💥**It has come to our attention that there are concerns with the ingredient “carrageenan” that is used in our vegetarian softgels. At dōTERRA, your health is very important to us and we would never use an ingredient that wasn’t thoroughly researched and known to be safe.
Carrageenan is a natural fiber extracted from seaweed and is used as a thickening agent in our vegetarian softgels. Seaweed and seaweed fiber are used safely and extensively throughout the world and have well-established safety records supported by numerous clinical studies. Carrageenan is GRAS (Generally Recognized As Safe) and is approved for use by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in the U.S., by the European Parliament and Council, by the Joint World Health Organization, and by the Food and Agriculture Organization Expert Committee on Food Additives.
dōTERRA only uses long chain carrageenan molecules—which have been shown to be safe—in our products. Carrageenan is simply a type of fiber that is not digested or absorbed by the intestinal tract. It is therefore unable to enter the blood stream by ingestion.
We thank you for your concerns and hope you will use our softgel products with confidence, knowing that they are safe for your body. For additional questions regarding carrageenan, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org.